James W. Crowley State 4-H Dairy Leadership Award winners announced

Contact: Beth Heinze (608) 263-9409, heinze2@wisc.edu

Sixteen Wisconsin dairy youth received James W. Crowley State 4-H Dairy Leadership Awards at the 2012 Wisconsin Junior State Fair. These youth were rewarded for their outstanding dairy project work and leadership ability. Each award winner will receive a plaque provided by the James W. Crowley Dairy Management and Extension Fund.

The two top youth, Dane Thompson of Almena and John Klossner of Mount Horeb, received $500 scholarships for continuing their dairy educations. Receiving plaques as State James W Crowley Leadership Award recipients were: Thomas Allen of Reedsburg, Ethan Dado of Amery, Lara Daentl of Edmund, Jordan Ebert of Algoma, Elizabeth Endres of Waunakee, Lindsey Hellenbrand of Cross Plains, Brooks Hendrickson of Belleville, Blake Klessig of Brillion, Theresa Madland of Lyndon Station, Connor Moore of Gratiot, Janelle Remington of Juneau, Mckenzie Rowley of Loyal, and Emily Selner of Denmark.

The judges for this year’s Crowley Awards were Ted Halbach, director of UW Madison’s Farm and Industry Short Course and Rebecca Brotzman, coordinator for The Dairyland Initiative at the UW-Madison School of Veterinary Madison.  Both are members of the James W. Crowley Dairy Management and Extension Fund Committee.

Both judges commented on the high quality of this year’s interviewees and were excited to see so many exceptional young men and women interview for this award.

This award program is in honor and memory of James W. Crowley, longtime extension dairy specialist at UW Madison and strong supporter of dairy youth project work.

Photos available for download at:


Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share