Southwest Area Animal Science Days Dairy Judging Contest

Contact: Beth Heinze, (608) 263-9409 or

Area youth competed in Mineral Point at the Southwest Area Animal Science days on June 28. The top two teams and individuals earned a right to compete at the state contest that will be Monday, July 22, in Marshfield held in conjunction with the state Guernsey and Ayrshire show.

Northwest, Chippewa County

Thirteen counties competed in the Senior division at the Southwest Area Animal Science Days contest in Iowa County, with Fond Du Lac County taking top honors.  Darren Kamphuis, Valerie Kramer, Matthew Kramer, Courtney McCourt, and Andrew made up the winning Senior team. Derrek Kamphuis of Fond du Lac County was the top individual in the Senior division with an overall score of 522 points followed by Alex Huibregtse of Sheboygan County with 517 points. Winning the Junior division was the team from Dodge County, which consisted of Dawson Nickels, Kylie Nickels, Matthew Gunst, Samantha Pitterle, and Grady Wendorf. Dawon and Kylie Nickels also finished first and second in the Junior Contest with 415 and 403 points respectively. Winning the Showmanship Contest was Andy Helmer of Sheboygan County.

Top 5 Senior Teams:

  1. Fond Du Lac County
  2. Manitowoc County
  3. Sheboygan County
  4. Green County
  5. Clark County

Top 10 Senior Individuals:

  1. Derrek Kamphuis – Fond Du Lac County
  2. Alex Huibregtse – Sheboygan County
  3. Crystal Seimers-Peterman – Manitowoc County
  4. Valerie Kramer – Fond Du Lac County
  5. Darren Kamphuis – Fond Du Lac County
  6. Brooks Hendrickson – Green County
  7. Andy Sell – Dodge County
  8. Matthew Kramer – Fond Du Lac County
  9. Charlie Hamilton – Grant County
  10. Nicole Pralle – Clark County

Top 5 Junior Teams:

  1. Dodge County
  2. Manitowoc County (Team One)
  3. Fond Du Lac County (Team One)
  4. Sheboygan County (Team One)
  5. Lafayette County (Team One)

Top 10 Junior Individuals:

  1. Dawson Nickels – Dodge County
  2. Kylie Nickels – Dodge County
  3. Kalista Hodorff – Fond Du Lac County
  4. Jared Zutz – Manitowoc County
  5. Jake Siemers – Manitowoc County
  6. Meghan Douglas – Lafayette County
  7. Cole Booth – Sheboygan County
  8. Abby Field – Sauk County
  9. Grant Fremstad – Richland County
  10. Clarissa Ulness – Manitowoc County

Photos can be found at:

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share