2018 State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest Results

Grant County Juniors and Marathon County Senior Teams Top 2018 4-H Livestock Judging Contest

(Madison): The State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest was held on Monday, July 23 at the Stock Pavilion at UW-Madison, Madison WI. This annual venue allows the top junior and senior county 4-H Livestock judging teams the opportunity to apply their skills in evaluating beef, swine, sheep and meat goat classes in hopes of qualifying for a national livestock judging event this fall.

In 2018, there were eight senior teams and fourteen junior teams that participated. The contest consisted of evaluating classes of market and breeding beef, market and breeding swine, market and breeding sheep, market goats as well as answer questions and deliver sets of oral reasons. These teams qualified for the state contest by being top teams at the district Area Animal Science Days that were held around the state in June.

The top two teams in the Senior Division will go on to represent Wisconsin at a National Judging Contest this fall. A team from Marathon County took top honors in the senior division. Team Members included: Kailen Smerchek, Malorie Schmoll, Stephanie Witberger and Hunter Falkowski. Marathon County is coached by Dan Smerchek and Ty Bayer. The second place senior team was Iowa County. Team members include: Morgan Vondra, Brady Palzkill, and Brandon Springer. They are coached by Jeff Thomas, Mike Robinson and Matt Heins. Third place team went to Sheboygan County. Team members include: Caden Nicolaus, Anna Kitzerow, Alisha Klemme, and Isaac Kohlman. They are coached by Chad Kohlman. Fourth Place went to Jefferson County. Team members: Alexis Schultz, Colton Klecker, Danielle Chwala and Trevor Messmer. Jefferson is coached by Ed Bielinski. Fifth Place went to Pierce County: Team members: Jacob Boatman, Isabelle Hudson and Lindsey Augustine. Pierce is coached by Caleb Dressen and Megan Geraets.

The top ten senior individual judges: 1st: Kailen Smerchek, Marathon, 2nd: Morgan Vondra, Iowa, 3rd: Caden Nicolaus, Sheboygan, 4th: Anna Kitzerow, Sheboygan, 5th: Hannah Tremaine, Waukesha, 6th: Alexis Schultz, Jefferson, 7th: Malorie Schmoll, 8th: Blake Johnson, Trempealeau, 9th: Stephanie Witberler, Marathon and 10th: Kendra Jentz, Grant

The top reasons team was Marathon County. Team members include: Kailen Smerchek, Malorie Schmoll, Stephanie Witberler and Hunter Falkowski. The top five reasons individuals were: Kailen Smerchek, Marathon, Morgan Vondra, Iowa County, Anna Kitzerow, Sheboygan, Hannah Tremaine, Waukesha, Malorie Schmoll, Marathon.

The top beef was Marathon County; top sheep/goat team was Marathon County and top swine team was also Marathon County.

The top junior team was from Grant County. Team members were: Luke Patterson, Jessica Patterson, Avery Crooks and Brendan Jentz. They are coached by Dennis Patterson. The second place junior team was Iowa County. Team members include: Joey Robinson, Emma Steffes, Annie Robinson and Ryan Schubert. They are coached by Jeff Thomas and Mike Robinson. Third Place: Columbia County: Samantha Rake, Summer Rake, Ryli Theis and Macy Cross. Team is coached by Cara Cross/Todd Taylor. Fourth Place: Jackson County: Trent Laufenberg, Luke Fischer, Grace Kling and Austin Laufenberg. Coached by Jessie Oberlin. Fifth Place: Sheboygan County: Ethan Kohlman, Brayden Peter, Cora Kolhman, and Alison Gartman. Team is coached by Chad Kohlman and Liz Gartman.

The top ten junior individual judges: 1st: Luke Patterson, Grant County, 2nd: Jessica Patterson, Grant County, 3rd: Joey Robinson, Iowa County, 4th: Cora Capatske, Pierce County, 5th: Emily Zukowski, Dunn County, 6th: Trent Laufenberg, Jackson County, 7th: Samantha Rake, Columbia County, 8th: Madelyn Thornton, Grant County, 9th: Emma Steffes, Iowa County, 10th: Summer Rake, Columbia County.

The top beef team went to Grant County, top swine team went to Iowa County and top sheep/goat team went to Columbia County. Top Reasons individual for juniors went to Jessica Patterson, Grant County and top reasons team for the junior division went to Grant County.

Sponsors for the State 4-H Livestock contest include: The Milwaukee Stockyards, Wisconsin 4-H Foundation, Andis Foundation, Buell Gunderson Memorial, Equity Livestock Coop, Country Fresh Meats, Kwik Trip, UW-Extension, and UW Animal Science Departments. Extension Youth Livestock Specialist Bernie O’Rourke, Outreach Specialist, Alissa Grenawalt and 4-H Youth Development LTE Alexa Roscizewski organized the contest.

For more information about Wisconsin’s Youth Livestock Program, contact Bernie O’Rourke (608) 263-4304, borourke2@ansci.wisc.edu.

2018 State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest NR

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share