Getting to know the Southeast Fox River Basin

The Southeast Fox River Basin is located primarily in Kenosha, Racine, Walworth and Waukesha Counties in Southeastern Wisconsin. Some of the cities included are Brookfield, Pewaukee, Waukesha, Mukwonago, East Troy and Burlington. The basin is home to approximately 500,000 people.

The Basin contains nearly 700 miles of streams, draining over 1,000 square miles of land.  Wetlands encompass nearly 78,000 acres, or 11 percent of the basin land area.

The Natural Heritage Inventory has documented 23 endangered, 26 threatened and 70 special concern plant and animal species, and 30 rare aquatic and terrestrial communities within the basin.

Recreational opportunities, such as hiking, fishing, biking, cross-country skiing, and more are abundant in the watershed. Some locations of note include the Southern Unit of the Kettle Moraine State Forest, Bong Recreation Area and Vernon Marsh Wildlife Area.   Also, several county and local parks provide a wide variety of recreational opportunities.