Business culture influences farm success during challenging times

Today’s challenging business environment requires organizations to grow a healthy business culture in order to be successful. While culture may not be something talked about on the farm, your organization’s culture speaks loudly of your business.  Explore how business culture influences success on farms during challenging times.

Read More...

Human Resource Management course for farmers offered in January

Contact: Ted Halbach, (608) 262-3127, tjhalbach@wisc.edu Are you a farmer who’s considering expanding your farm operation? You know you can handle more livestock, but you’re not sure how to manage employees? Do you already have employees and are looking for some additional human resource management training? University of Wisconsin-Extension has partnered with UW-Madison Farm and […]

Read More...

Transferring the Farm in a High Stakes Era: A Workshop for Retiring and Beginning Farmers

Contact: Denise Brusveen, 608-355-3257, denise.brusveen@ces.uwex.edu Joe Bollman, 608-742-9680, joe.bollman@ces.uwex.edu The University of Wisconsin-Extension in Sauk and Columbia Counties will host a workshop to explore issues and considerations for farm succession in today’s high stakes climate. The workshop will be at the West Square Administration Building, 505 Broadway, Baraboo on Dec. 17. A generation ago, passing […]

Read More...

UW study to look at feeding strategies on Wisconsin dairy farms: economic, production, and environmental outcomes

Contact: Victor Cabrera, 608-265-8506, vcabrera@wisc.edu Brad Barham, 608-265-3090, barham@aae.wisc.edu Rhonda Gildersleeve, 608-723-6243, rhonda.gildersleeve@ces.uwex.edu Michel Wattiaux, 608-263-3493, wattiaux@wisc.edu Feed management strategies and their impacts on dairy farm production, profitability, and environmental outcomes is the focus of a study being conducted in eight southwest Wisconsin counties beginning in October. This large survey is a collaborative effort between […]

Read More...

Beginning Farm Financial recordkeeping training using Quickbooks is scheduled for August 2010

Contact: Sandy Stuttgen, 715-748-3327, sandy.stuttgen@ces.uwex.edu Jenny Vanderlin, 608-263-7795, jmvander@wisc.edu Are you interested in learning how to use Quickbooks computer software for your farm financial recordkeeping? Or build upon what you already do know? The University of Wisconsin-Extension Center for Dairy Profitability and UW-River Falls are offering a beginning hands-on workshop using Quickbooks at the North […]

Read More...

Financial recordkeeping training using Quickbooks scheduled for March 2010 in Reedsburg

Contact:  Denise Brusveen, 608-355-3250, denise.brusveen@ces.uwex.edu Jenny Vanderlin, 608-263-7795, jmvander@wisc.edu Are you interested in learning how to use Quickbooks computer software for your farm financial recordkeeping? The University of Wisconsin-Extension, Center for Dairy Profitability and UW-River Falls are offering a Beginner’s Quickbooks Workshop at MATC-Reedsburg, Monday, March 15, 2010 from 10 a.m.- 3 p.m. Quickbooks is […]

Read More...